FERC Commissioner Powelson to leave commission mid-August

FERC Commissioner Robert Powelson, in a June 28 statement, said that he will leave his position at FERC in mid-August.

Powelson thanked President Donald Trump for nominating him, the members of the U.S. Senate who confirmed him, as well as his “colleagues for their steadfast commitment to FERC’s mission, members of the public who help inform our decisions, and the staff at FERC for their dedication and support throughout my time at the commission, especially the members of my office. It has been the honor of a lifetime to serve our great nation as a FERC commissioner.”

Powelson said that after he leaves the commission, he will become the president and CEO of the National Association of Water Companies (NAWC).

According to the NAWC website, the NAWC “is the voice of the private water industry – the organization exclusively representing this group of quality service providers, innovation drivers and responsible partners.”

As TransmissionHub reported, FERC last August said that the Senate confirmed the nominations of Powelson and of Neil Chatterjee to join the commission. Chatterjee, a senior energy adviser to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY), will serve out the remainder of a term that ends in June 2021, FERC said at the time, adding that Powelson, a member and former chairman of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission since 2008, and then-president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, would serve out the remainder of a term that ends in June 2020.

Last November, FERC said that the Senate confirmed the nominations of Kevin McIntyre and Richard Glick to join the commission, with McIntyre to serve as commission chairman.

McIntyre, co-leader of the global Energy Practice at the law firm Jones Day, will serve out the remainder of a term that ends June 2018, and a full term that ends June 2023, while Glick, general counsel for the Democrats on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, will serve out the remainder of a term that ends in June 2022, FERC said at the time.

They joined FERC Commissioner Cheryl LaFleur, who, as noted on the commission’s website, was first nominated by President Barack Obama to FERC in 2010 and was confirmed for a second term by the Senate in 2014. She served as acting chairman of the commission from November 2013 to July 2014, and January 2017 to August 2017, as well as chairman from July 2014 until April 2015, the site noted, adding that LaFleur’s term expires June 30, 2019.

About Corina Rivera-Linares 3286 Articles
Corina Rivera-Linares was TransmissionHub’s chief editor until August 2021, as well as part of the team that established TransmissionHub in 2011. Before joining TransmissionHub, Corina covered renewable energy and environmental issues, as well as transmission, generation, regulation, legislation and ISO/RTO matters at SNL Financial from 2005 to 2011. She has also covered such topics as health, politics, and education for weekly newspapers and national magazines.