Chatterjee, Powelson to join FERC following Senate confirmation

FERC on Aug. 4 said that the U.S. Senate has confirmed the nominations of Neil Chatterjee and Robert Powelson to join the commission.

Chatterjee, a senior energy adviser to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY), will serve out the remainder of a term that ends in June 2021, FERC said, adding that Powelson, a member and former chairman of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission since 2008, and current president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, will serve out the remainder of a term that ends in June 2020.

FERC Acting Chairman Cheryl LaFleur said in the statement: “I am very pleased to welcome Neil and Rob to the commission, and I look forward to working with them. They each bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the important issues we are facing. With a quorum restored, our first order of business is the backlog of orders and issues that are awaiting commission consideration.”

According to the Senate’s website, Chatterjee and Powelson were confirmed by voice vote.

According to a statement from the White House, several nominations were sent to the Senate on Aug. 2, including Richard Glick, of Virginia, to be a member of FERC for the term expiring June 30, 2022, and Kevin McIntyre, of Virginia, to be a member of FERC for the term expiring June 30, 2023.

As TransmissionHub reported, FERC currently has only one member, LaFleur, following the June 30 departure of former FERC Commissioner Colette Honorable.

A FERC spokesperson told TransmissionHub on July 17, “Acting Chairman Cheryl LaFleur’s term ends June 30, 2019 and she has on a number of occasions indicated she plans to serve the full term.”

Honorable on April 28 said that she has decided not to pursue another term at FERC. Former FERC Chairman Norman Bay resigned, effective as of Feb. 3, and prior to his resignation, there were already two vacancies at FERC, following the departures of former Commissioners Philip Moeller and Tony Clark. According to the Code of Federal Regulations, a quorum for the transaction of business consists of at least three members present. FERC in February issued an order delegating additional authority to agency staff to continue certain agency operations in the absence of a quorum of commissioners.

About Corina Rivera-Linares 3286 Articles
Corina Rivera-Linares was TransmissionHub’s chief editor until August 2021, as well as part of the team that established TransmissionHub in 2011. Before joining TransmissionHub, Corina covered renewable energy and environmental issues, as well as transmission, generation, regulation, legislation and ISO/RTO matters at SNL Financial from 2005 to 2011. She has also covered such topics as health, politics, and education for weekly newspapers and national magazines.