New Jersey Board of Public Utilities President Richard S. Mroz elected to lead the Organization of PJM States (OPSI)

Trenton, N.J. (Nov. 1, 2016) – The New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (Board) is pleased to announce that Board President Richard S. Mroz has been elected to serve as president of the Organization of PJM States (OPSI).

“I am honored to have been selected to serve as president by my fellow commissioners from public utility commissions represented in OPSI,” said President Mroz. As an interested state commission, we have, and will continue, to take an active role in tackling the PJM and FERC issues that have substantial impact on the New Jersey ratepayers. I’m excited about the challenges that lie ahead and will work to foster consensus among the OPSI members.”

Other newly elected OPSI officers include:

Vice President: Daniel E. Logsdon, Kentucky Public Service Commission Secretary: John R. Rosales, Illinois Commerce Commission
Treasurer: Chairman Dallas Winslow, Delaware Public Service Commission

OPSI, a non-profit corporation established in May 2005, is an organization of utility regulatory agencies in the 13 states and the District of Columbia that are covered by PJM Interconnection, LLC (PJM), the regional transmission operator (RTO) that oversees the operation of the electric transmission grid and related services. OPSI actively participates in PJM meetings and issues to the extent such issues may eventually affect the distribution customers of electricity that are under the individual jurisdiction of the 14 regulatory agencies within the PJM footprint. OPSI activities include, but are not limited to, coordinating activities such as data collection, issue analyses and policy formulation related to PJM, its operations, its market monitor and related Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) matters, as well as their individual roles as statutory regulators within their respective state boundaries.

PJM is part of the Eastern Interconnection grid operating an electric transmission system serving all or parts of Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia.

Source: New Jersey BPU