North Carolina’s Finley to chair NARUC Electricity Committee

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Travis Kavulla of Montana has appointed North Carolina Commissioner Edward S. Finley, Jr. to chair NARUC’s Committee on Electricity.

The Committee on Electricity develops and advances policies that promote reliable, adequate and affordable supply of electricity. Through strong collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and related federal agencies, the committee also seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation through education, cooperation and exchange of information.

 Chairman Finley holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in history from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Juris Doctor from the University of North Carolina School of Law. From 1974 to 2007 he practiced law, with a focus on public utility regulation. Governor Easley appointed Finley to the Commission on January 23, 2007, to fill a term that expired on June 30, 2011. Governor Perdue reappointed him to the Commission effective July 1, 2011, for a term that expires on June 30, 2019. His term as commission chairman expires on June 30, 2017.

President Kavulla also made appointments to NARUC’s Advisory Council to the Board of Directors of the Electric Power Research Institute. Commissioners Jack Betkoski of Connecticut, Bruce Williamson of Maine and Matt Schuerger of Minnesota will complete the terms of Susan Ackerman (Oregon), Jim Gardner (Kentucky), and Andre Porter (Ohio), respectively.

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal, and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.