EKPC deactivates last two units at Dale coal plant in Kentucky

PJM Interconnection said in an April 22 update to its deactivated power plant list that East Kentucky Power Cooperative’s coal-fired Dale Unit 3 (74 MW) and Unit 4 (73 MW) were deactivated as of April 16.

East Kentucky Power Cooperative had wanted to deactivate these units earlier due to federal Mercury and Air Toxics Standards (MATS) compliance needs, but PJM needed them to run for extra time for grid reliability purposes. April 16 is the compliance deadline under a one-year extension of the MATS rule.

EKPC’s Dale Station is located adjacent to the Kentucky River at Ford in Clark County, Kentucky. Dale is home to four baseload units comprised of pulverized coal-fired boilers with steam turbine generators. Units 1 and 2, each rated at 23 MW, were deactivated in April 2015.

PJM said the other unit in its region deactivated on April 16 was NRG Energy‘s (NYSE: NRG) Avon Lake Unit 7 (94.6 MW) in northern Ohio. Said the list about that coal-fired unit: “Reliability analysis complete. Impacts identified, resolved via existing baseline upgrades, which are not expected to be completed until 2018. Interim operating measures identified and can be utilized until baseline upgrades completed. Unit deactivated on 4/16/2016.”

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.