NRC announces management changes

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission announced senior personnel changes Sept. 28 that help streamline agency management and broaden the scope and diversity of its leadership at the top as the agency works to reduce its size in the coming years.

The most senior changes – which required Commission approval and will occur in early November – include:

Deputy Executive Director for Material, Waste, Research, State, Tribal and Compliance Programs Mike Weber will become director of the Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research;

Jennifer Uhle, currently deputy director for engineering in the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, will become director of the Office of New Reactors;

Director of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards Catherine Haney will become the Region II regional administrator in January, succeeding Victor McCree, who just assumed the agency’s most senior career position, Executive Director for Operations (EDO).

In addition, the position vacated by Weber will absorb new corporate management responsibilities and be known as the Deputy EDO for Materials, Waste, Research, State, Tribal, Compliance Administration and Human Capital (DEDM), effectively reducing one deputy EDO position and moving the Office of Administration and the Office of the Chief Human Capital Officer under the newly titled post. Darren Ash, the current deputy EDO for corporate management, remains as the agency’s Chief Information Officer and the Office of Information Services is renamed the Office of the Chief Information Officer.

Future announcements will focus on additional steps to fill vacancies created by personnel movements and enhance succession planning.


Weber started his current position in May 2010, having previously been the director of the Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards. He joined the NRC in 1982 as a hydrogeologist in NMSS, where he held a number of progressively more responsible positions. In 2002, he was appointed as the deputy director of the newly established Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response (NSIR) following the terrorist attacks on Sept. 11, 2001. In 2006, Mr. Weber was appointed as the deputy director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR). He also served as an assistant to former Chairman Kenneth Carr and as the executive assistant and director for former Chairman Shirley Ann Jackson. He holds a bachelor of science degree in geosciences from Pennsylvania State University, is a graduate of the NRC’s Senior Executive Service Candidate Development Program and has received a number of prestigious awards for public servants.

Uhle, who has an undergraduate degree and doctorate in nuclear engineering from MIT, joined the NRC as part of the agency’s Graduate Fellowship Program. From 1996 to 2005, she held a number of progressively responsible positions in the Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research (RES), NRR, and the Office of former Chairman Richard A. Meserve. In 2005, she was selected for the Senior Executive Service (SES) position of deputy director for materials engineering, RES, and subsequently held additional senior positions in that office. From 2012 to mid-2015, she served as the deputy director for reactor safety programs in NRR until obtaining her current position. She is a graduate of the SES Candidate Development Program.

Haney joined the NRC in 1981 as a health physicist intern in the former Office of Inspection and Enforcement. In 1983, she left government service for private industry and worked as a consultant at Health Physics Services Inc., supporting the medical and industrial community. In 1989, Ms. Haney returned to the NRC’s NMSS organization as a quality assurance specialist and later as a senior health physicist. Haney entered the SES Candidate Development Program in 2001, and upon completion began serving in more senior positions in NMSS, NSIR, NRR and in the office of former Chairman Nils Diaz. In 2008, Haney was appointed deputy director of NMSS, and became office director in May 2010. She holds a B.S. degree in radiological technology from the University of Maryland and a master’s degree in radiological science from Emory University.