NRC begins enviro review process for LaSalle license renewal

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) will prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) on the license renewal application from Exelon Generation Co. LLC of Facility Operating Licenses NPF-11 and NPF-18 for an additional 20 years of operation at the LaSalle County Station (LSCS) in Illinois.

The current operating licenses for LSCS Units 1 and 2 expire on April 17, 2022, and December 16, 2023, respectively, the NRC said in a notice to be published in the Feb. 3 Federal Register. LSCS is located in LaSalle County, Illinois. The public can offer scoping comments on what should be in the EIS for 60 days after Feb. 3.

The application for license renewal, dated Dec. 9, 2014, included an environmental report (ER). A separate notice of receipt and availability of the application was published in the Federal Register on Dec. 18, 2014.

Scoping meetings will be held on March 10, and there will be two sessions to accommodate interested persons. The first session will convene at 2:00 p.m. and will continue until 4:00 p.m., as necessary. The second session will convene at 7:00 p.m. with a repeat of the overview portions of the meeting and will continue until 9:00 p.m., as necessary. Both sessions will be held at the LaSalle County, Emergency Operations Center, 711 East Etna Road, Ottawa, Illinois.

Each of the two LaSalle units are boiling water reactors with a capacity of more than 1,100 MW each.

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.