NARUC president taps Oregon’s Ackerman to chair electricity committee

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Lisa Edgar of Florida appointed Oregon Public Utility Commission Chair Susan Ackerman as chairman of the Association’s Committee on Electricity.

Chair Ackerman, a former co-vice chair of the committee, is replacing Commissioner David Boyd of Minnesota, whose term at the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission expired.

NARUC’s Committee on Electricity provides State regulators a forum to develop and advance policies that promote reliable, adequate, and affordable supply of electricity. Through collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and related federal agencies, the Committee seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation through education, cooperation, and exchange of information.

“I am incredibly pleased Chair Ackerman has accepted my invitation to serve NARUC and U.S. ratepayers,” President Edgar said. “Having been in a leadership position within NARUC and this committee in the past, she is well-suited and well-equipped as the electricity sector undergoes tremendous change. Chair Ackerman is an innovative, thoughtful leader who will ensure all views are heard. I would also like to thank Commissioner Boyd for his years of service to NARUC and electricity consumers across the country. I wish him the best in his future endeavors.”

Chair Ackerman was first appointed to the Oregon Public Utility Commission in March 2010. Within NARUC, Commissioner Ackerman serves on the Board of Directors and is a past co-vice chair of the Committee on Electricity. She is also a member for the Association’s former Smart Grid Working Group. In addition, Chair Ackerman is a member of the Electric Power Research Institute Advisory Council and co-chairs the Residential Retrofit Working Group of the public-private State and Local Energy Efficiency Action Network.