Florida swears in PSC members

Jimmy Patronis was sworn in Jan. 8 as a Commissioner on the Florida Public Service Commission (PSC) by Judge Nicholas Russell Thompson of the 20th Judicial Circuit Court in Lee County. Governor Rick Scott appointed Patronis to the PSC in September to serve a four-year term beginning in January 2015.

Patronis recently represented District 6 (Bay County) in the Florida House of Representatives.

Commissioner Patronis received a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science from Florida State University. He is a member of the Florida Chamber of Commerce and Bay County Chamber of Commerce Leadership Programs and has been involved in many other state and community organizations.

Commissioner Patronis joins Chairman Art Graham and Commissioners Lisa Edgar, Ronald Brisé, and Julie Brown, who was sworn in Jan. 8 for her second term on the five-member panel.

Originally appointed in January 2011, Commissioner Brown was recently reappointed by Governor Rick Scott for a second term through January 1, 2019.

Commissioner Brown is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) and serves on the Committee on Gas and the Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues–Waste Disposal and formerly served on the Committee on Energy Resources and Environment. 

The PSC oversees the state’s investor-owned electric, gas, water, wastewater, and telecommunications companies.