LaFleur named regular chairman of FERC

President Barack Obama has named Cheryl LaFleur to serve as Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, effective July 30, 2014, removing the term “acting” from in front of her title.

Obama has also designated Norman Bay, recently confirmed by the Senate as a FERC member, as the next Chairman, effective April 15, 2015.

“I am very honored to lead the Commission at such an important time for the nation’s energy infrastructure and markets. I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues and the dedicated FERC staff,” said LaFleur in an Aug. 1 statement.

LaFleur was first nominated by President Obama to the commission in 2010 and was confirmed for a second term by the Senate in 2014. She was named Acting Chairman in November 2013.

Bay has lately been the Director of the Office of Enforcement at FERC. Before joining the commission, he was a Professor of Law at the University of New Mexico School of Law, where he taught Criminal Law, Evidence, and Constitutional Law.

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.