AEP Generation reports on plans to shut coal units by June 2015

AEP Generation Resources, out of an “abundance of caution,” on April 4 filed a brief environmental compliance plan with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio that outlines the latest status of long-announced coal unit shutdowns.

AEP Generation Resources is an unregulated unit of American Electric Power (NYSE: AEP), so it was not required to make this filing. But it did at the end of 2013 take on several power plants of AEP’s AEP Ohio unit, which gave up the plants as part of a PUCO-approved deregulation plan.

The April 4 filing said that these coal units and plants will be shut by June 1, 2015:

  • Kammer, Moundsville, W.Va., Units 1, 2 and 3, 630 MW;
  • Muskingum River, Beverly, Ohio, Units 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, 1,425 MW;
  • Beckjord, New Richmond, Ohio, Unit 6, 53 MW (Plant operated by Duke Power. 53 MW represents Ohio Power’s share of the unit capacity);
  • Picway, Lockbourne, Ohio, Unit 5, 100 MW;
  • Philip Sporn, New Haven, W.Va., Units 2 and 4, 300 MW.

In February 2012, AEP Ohio retired the 450-MW Sporn Unit 5, and in December 2012 it retired the 165-MW Conesville Unit 3. AEP Generation Resources will retire nearly 2,500 MW of generating capacity by June 1, 2015.

The filing also includes a list of power plants and the emissions control equipment that has been or is planned to be installed on them. The list shows very little in the way of future emissions projects.

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.