Honorable elected president of NARUC

The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) elected Colette Honorable, commissioner with the Arkansas Public Service Commission (PSC), to the office of president at the group’s 125th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla.

Honorable, who was introduced at an installation luncheon Nov. 19, outlined her priorities for the organization for the coming year, including maintaining a focus on safety in the gas and electric sectors, resiliency for the electrical grid, strengthening electric reliability, and promoting diversity in issues ranging from fuel generation source to workforce diversity.

The election, held shortly after the opening of the annual meeting on Nov. 18, marked a number of firsts. Honorable is the first woman of color, the first person of color, and the first commissioner from Arkansas to hold the post. In addition, it is the first time in the organization’s history that women hold the offices of president, as well as first and second vice president at the same time.

Commissioner Lisa Edgar, of the Florida PSC, is first vice president and will ascend to the presidency when Honorable’s term expires. Commissioner Susan Ackerman of the Oregon Public Utility Commission was elected second vice president. She will become first vice president in 2014, and president in 2015.

Honorable will assume the office from NARUC’s current president, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commissioner Phillip Jones, at the conclusion of the annual meeting Nov. 20.