Senate Energy to Tackle Nuclear Waste Issue

The Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources will meet Tuesday July 30 at 2:30 p.m. EDT to receive testimony on S. 1240, the Nuclear Waste Administration Act of 2013. 

The lead witness is Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz.  A second panel will feature (National Conference of State Legislatures’ Sally Young Jameson; Southwest Area National Congress of American Indians Vice President Joe Garcia, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Electricity Committee Chair David Boyd, Chuck Smith of the Energy Communities Alliance, Nuclear Energy Institute President and CEO Marvin Fertel, Natural Resources Defense Council’s Geoffrey Fettus and Union of Concerned Scientists Nuclear Safety Project Director David Lochbaum.