Rayburn Country Electric Cooperative, Inc. Becomes 21st ACES Member

Rayburn Country Electric Cooperative, Inc. (Rayburn) will become the 21st Member (Owner) of ACES, effective August 1, 2013. Rayburn will begin receiving a variety of services from ACES including portfolio modeling and analysis, as well as strategic development and other energy risk management services.

“Rayburn currently has full requirements power supply contracts, but we are going to be faced with numerous supply planning decisions over the coming years. Our Board of Directors and management believe we need a trusted partner with experience in both the ERCOT and SPP markets to work with us in the future,” stated John Kirkland, President and CEO of Rayburn. “ACES provides access to planning tools and market intelligence that will help us shape our future energy portfolio.”

Acting ACES President and CEO Mike Steffes added, “Rayburn is highly respected in our industry and John Kirkland and the management team have a great track record of successfully responding to the increased complexity facing the company. We are confident that ACES’ services will be beneficial to Rayburn as they contemplate their power supply decisions. ACES and its Board of Managers are excited to welcome Rayburn as the newest ACES Member.”                                           

About ACES

ACES will now be owned by twenty generation and transmission cooperatives and one independent distribution cooperative. The company assists its Members and Customers in the management of their energy risk. The Members and Customers served by ACES operate in all of the major electricity markets in the United States and have a collective portfolio of over 50,000 MW of both load and resources. Because ACES does not buy or sell energy on its own behalf, it avoids conflicts of interest and ensures alignment with the best interests of the organizations it serves. 

About Rayburn

Headquartered in Rockwall, Texas, Rayburn is a rural electric generation and transmission cooperative which provides the wholesale power requirements for five rural electric distribution cooperatives. Rayburn’s member cooperatives include Fannin County Electric Cooperative Inc., Farmers Electric Cooperative Inc., Grayson-Collin Electric Cooperative Inc., Lamar County Electric Cooperative Association and Trinity Valley Electric Cooperative Inc., which together provide electric service to over 170,000 customers in northeast Texas. Rayburn has peak demand of over 1,000 MW and owns a 25% interest in the Freestone Energy Center.