FERC’s Dispute Resolution Service to Join Office of Administrative Law Judges

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) Chairman Jon Wellinghoff announced today that the FERC Dispute Resolution Service is moving to the Commission’s Office of Administrative Law Judges (OALJ).

Until now, the Dispute Resolution Service had been part of the Office of Administrative Litigation (OAL).

With the addition of the Dispute Resolution Service, the new office will be named Office of Administrative Law Judges and Dispute Resolution (OALJDR).

The transfer will provide a seamless process for the referral and early identification of issues and proceedings that lend themselves to consensual resolution. This new structure will allow for a continuum of progressive Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) options when considering complex, multi-disciplinary energy initiatives facing the Commission and the nation.