NARUC president applauds Wellinghoff for fostering collaborative federal-state dialogue

WASHINGTON, May 29, 2013 — National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Philip Jones of Washington issued the following statement after Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Chair Jon Wellinghoff announced his pending departure from the agency:

“On behalf of the nation’s State utility regulators, I would like to thank Chair Wellinghoff for his leadership at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Under his watch, Chair Wellinghoff spearheaded the several FERC-NARUC collaborative dialogues on issues of regional and national concern. These discussions help build understanding and bridge differences between federal and State regulators. Although we have had our disagreements, as there is always a natural tension between State and federal governments, we utilized our collaborative dialogues to maintain a positive relationship. We look forward to continuing these discussions with Chair Wellinghoff throughout the remainder of his term, along with Commissioners John Norris, Cheryl LaFleur, Philip Moeller, and Tony Clark.”