President nominates four for TVA board of directors

President Barack Obama on Sept. 21 named four nominees, subject to U.S. Senate confirmation, as members to the Tennessee Valley Authority’s Board of Directors.

TVA, controlled by the federal government, is one of the largest power-generating utilities in the U.S., with a heavy dependence on nuclear and coal-fired power.

One of the nominees to the TVA board is Marilyn Brown, a professor at the School of Public Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where she has served since 2006. She has served on the board of TVA since September 2010.

Other nominees for the TVA board are:

  • V. Lynn Evans, the owner of V. Lynn Evans, CPA, a certified public accounting and consulting firm established in 1983. Evans has also served on the Board of Commissioners of Memphis Light, Gas, and Water Division since 2004, and served as Chair of the Board from 2008 to 2009. She has served on the Board of Directors of First Alliance Bank in Memphis, Tenn., since its inception in 1998.
  • Michael McWherter, who is owner and President of Central Distributors Co. and Volunteer Distributing Co., which are Tennessee-based beverage distribution companies. McWherter worked in private law practice from 1982 to 1985 in Nashville, with a focus on banking and administrative law, and clerked for the Tennessee Supreme Court from 1981 to 1982. He serves as Director and former Chairman of First State Bank of Union City, Tenn., and is on the Board of Directors of the Jackson Energy Authority in Jackson, Tenn. McWherter was the Democratic nominee in the 2010 Tennessee gubernatorial race.
  • Joe Ritch is an attorney at the Sirote & Permutt law firm in Huntsville, Ala., where he has worked since 1982. He has served as Chairman of the Tennessee Valley Base Realignment and Closures Committee since 1994 and as Co-Chairman of the Tennessee Valley Growth Coordination Group since 2008.

The TVA website said that besides Brown, the current TVA board members are:

  • Chairman William Sansom of Knoxville, Tenn., who has been chairman and CEO of The H.T. Hackney Co. since 1983. He previously served on the TVA board from 2006 to 2009 and was chairman from 2006 to 2008. His current term as chairman expires Dec. 31, 2013, and his term as a director expires May 18, 2014.
  • William Graves of Memphis, Tenn., retired in 2010 as presiding Bishop of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. His TVA board term expired May 18, 2012.
  • Barbara Haskew of Chattanooga, Tenn., served Middle Tennessee State University as Distinguished Professor of Economics for eight years where she also provided leadership for more than 20 years as chair of the Department of Economics and Finance; dean, College of Business Administration and vice president and provost of the University. Her TVA board term expires May 18, 2014.
  • Richard Howorth of Oxford, Miss., served two terms as mayor of Oxford and is founder and owner of Square Books, a leading independent bookstore in Oxford. His TVA board term expires May 18, 2015.
  • Neil McBride of Oak Ridge, Tenn., is a public-interest advocate and national leader in the field of public interest law. His TVA board term expires May 18, 2013.

Notable is that when their terms expire, directors may remain on the board until the end of the current congressional session (typically in December) or until their successors take office, whichever comes first. Also, the TVA website shows that TVA’s full allotment of directors is nine, so the current lineup of six members is short of that goal.

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.