NARUC taps Betkoski for executive committee slot

WASHINGTON–NARUC President David Wright of South Carolina appointed Commissioner John W. “Jack” Betkoski of Connecticut to serve on the Association’s Executive Committee.

The NARUC Executive Committee provides general organizational and budgetary oversight of the Association. It consists of the Association’s chief officers—President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer, and Past President—and additional members to ensure that each NARUC region is represented.

Commissioner Betkoski will represent the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners. Past President David Coen of Vermont, who initiated this transition, will remain on the Committee through the 124th Annual NARUC Meeting this November in his role as Past President.

“Commissioner Betkoski has been the ultimate team player within the Association for years, taking on numerous leadership roles throughout his tenure,” said President Wright. “I am honored to appoint him to the Executive Committee, where we will all benefit from his service. Commissioner Betkoski is a constant champion for consumers and improved utility regulation. I am thankful for his ongoing service.”

Past President Coen is relinquishing his role after serving as the NECPUC representative on the committee for the past eight years.

“Serving NARUC and our utility ratepayers as the NECPUC representative on the Executive Committee has been my tremendous honor,” Past President Coen said. “While I will still be on the committee, I have enjoyed my time within the NARUC leadership, and I thank all those who served with me throughout my tenure. Now is the time for a new voice from NECPUC and I congratulate Commissioner Betkoski on his appointment.”

“I am pleased Past President Coen will remain on the Executive Committee,” President Wright added. “His steadying voice and leadership continues to serve both NARUC and utility consumers well.”

“I want to thank President Wright for this opportunity,” Commissioner Betkoski said. “Utility consumers are facing tremendous pressures, yet we must make sure the infrastructure remains strong and resilient. I look forward to working with President Wright, Past President Coen, and my colleagues as we successfully surpass these challenges.”

Commissioner Betkoski has served Connecticut utility consumers since July 1997, when he was appointed to the former Department of Public Utility Control. He was appointed to the new Public Utilities Regulatory Authority last year after the formation of the new Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection.

Within NARUC, Commissioner Betkoski has served on the Association’s Board of Directors and as Chair of its Committee on Water and Subcommittee on Education and Research. In addition, he has served as Vice Chair of the Committee on Consumer Affairs, and as a member of the NARUC Smart Grid Working Group and Task Force on Environmental Regulations and Generation.

Commissioner Betkoski is also Chairman of the Connecticut Water Planning Council. He was a member of the EPA National Drinking Water Advisory Council having served on its Water Security Working Group, and was formerly a member of the AWWA Research Foundation’s Public Council on Drinking Water Research.