Senate confirms two for Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

On May 24, by unanimous consent, the full U.S. Senate confirmed the nominations of Commissioner John Norris and Tony Clark to be members of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, said FERC in a brief May 24 statement.

“I am honored to be confirmed for a full term as a Commissioner at FERC and thank President Obama and the U.S. Senate for the opportunity to continue serving the American people,” said Norris. “The energy issues we work on at FERC are critical to our nation’s economy and to the safety and well-being of our citizens. I look forward to continuing to form partnerships that strive to ensure consumers have access to reliable and efficient energy services.”

Norris was nominated by President Obama to FERC and confirmed by the U.S. Senate for a term expiring in June. Norris, a lawyer, has years of experience in energy policy and regulatory affairs. He most recently served as Chief of Staff to Secretary Tom Vilsack of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Prior to joining the USDA, he served as Chairman of the Iowa Utilities Board from 2005 to 2009.

Clark has been a member of the North Dakota Public Service Commission and chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners.

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.