Beshear names former FERC commissioner to the Kentucky PSC

Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear has appointed Linda Breathitt, who has worked in the energy sector for years in state and federal positions, to the Kentucky Public Service Commission.

“Linda has a broad range of experience in the energy sector that few can match,” said Beshear in a May 11 statement. “Her vision and expertise in this field will serve our entire state well.”

Breathitt replaces Charlie Borders, who resigned in December. Her term will begin May 21.

Breathitt currently serves as federal representative to the Southern States Energy Board, where she represents the U.S. Department of Energy. She has also worked as a senior energy and regulatory advisor at a law firm in Washington, D.C. She was appointed in 1997 as a commissioner at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Prior to her federal work, Breathitt was a commissioner and later Chair of the Kentucky PSC.

“I am thrilled to be appointed to the PSC again and look forward to working with my colleagues on the challenging and exciting issues we face in energy and regulation today,” said Breathitt.

The other PSC members are Chairman David Armstrong and Vice Chairman James Gardner. Beshear appointed Armstrong as Chairman in June 2008, and reappointed him to a second term in July 2011. His term ends in June 2015. Beshear appointed Gardner as Vice Chairman in June 2008, with his term to expire on July 1, 2012, the commission website shows.

About Barry Cassell 20414 Articles
Barry Cassell is Chief Analyst for GenerationHub covering coal and emission controls issues, projects and policy. He has covered the coal and power generation industry for more than 24 years, beginning in November 2011 at GenerationHub and prior to that as editor of SNL Energy’s Coal Report. He was formerly with Coal Outlook for 15 years as the publication’s editor and contributing writer, and prior to that he was editor of Coal & Synfuels Technology and associate editor of The Energy Report. He has a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University.